Vintage Hunting Half Way Around the World

For three weeks this month I visited good friends in Auckland, New Zealand.  Wanting to scope out Auckland’s vintage stores I found myself at St Kevin’s Arcade, the mecca for vintage and other beautiful curiosities. St Kevin’s Arcade is located on Karangahape Rd (K Road as the locals call it), a grittier, eclectic street full of cool stores and restaurants, tattoo parlors, bars, and strip clubs.

The first time I walked into St Kevin’s Arcade I knew I had found my favorite spot in Auckland!  Inside is a central courtyard with vintage stores, cafes and the most beautiful corset shop ever, all along the perimeter and potted tropical plants against the back wall.

Some of the amazing stores I went in at St Kevin’s Arcade (179 K Road) included:       Aunty Mavis, Nigel & Daphne, Search & Destroy, Tiny Space and Vixen Vintage.

And to add to my little bit of heaven, St Kevin’s Arcade has this amazing area full of tables for coffee drinkers to stare out of the enormous window at the beautiful park below.  I could have spent the entire day shopping and drinking coffee.  I was blissed out to find my three favorite things in one place: vintage, coffee and gardens!

While I was on K Rd I also went into Fuzzy Vibes Junction, which specializes in 1960s-80s garments (Basement 151 K Rd) as well as Peachy Keen, which is located inside Real Groovy, a record store full of novelties and used CDs, DVDs and games (438 Queen Street).  Most of the vintage stores seem to focus on attire from the 1970s-80s and household goodies from the 50s-60s.  I found so many books and kitchen ware that I wanted but resisted due to an already full suitcase.  I will just have to return soon!

About tulipsandcoffee

A lover of history, I enjoy exploring the Barbary Coast in search of fashion, food and Jack Kerouac’s old haunts.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vintage Hunting Half Way Around the World

  1. fantastic! I am loving your blog 🙂 xx Cat

  2. s.h. says:

    fabulous finds ….had never known that New Zealand had such an intriguing district! when are you going back?!

  3. Tatiana says:

    I love the old type on the building signs and the sign hanging inside. Super cool. I can’t wait to hear more about your trip! ❤

  4. Gabrielle says:

    these are our locals, aren’t they great shops

    • I loved Auckland, and these stores were amazing! I’m planning to visit friends again in February. If you have other stores you love, I would be interested in checking them out when I’m back!

Leave a Reply

