I Left My Wallet in San Francisco

I will never forget the reactions I got when I was vintage shopping in Auckland, New Zealand.  As soon as I mentioned that I lived in San Francisco, vintage shop owners were thrilled with expressions like ‘Oh you live in the mecca for vintage’ and  ‘I love San Francisco, I go there as often as I can to pick up pieces for my store.’

And it’s true, San Francisco is a vintage lovers dream come true.  After four years of living here, I have developed some favorites, conveniently all located on Haight-Ashbury.  So if you are wanting to leave your heart (and all your money) in San Francisco, here is where I recommend.

Decades of Fashion:

IMG_0269

It’s like dying and going to vintage heaven!  There is so much here, it is easy to get overwhelmed.  But pace yourself and you are sure to be rewarded!

Relic Vintage:

DSC03902

The shop owner Oran is amazing!  He will help size you and pick out more incredible outfits while you are playing dress up.

Wasteland:

IMG_0266

I go here just for the shoes.  Since I gravitate towards clothes from the 30s through the 50s, Wastelands doesn’t have too much to offer me, but the shoe collection is enough to make any woman swoon.

Bettie Page:

Yes, I know it’s not vintage, but these 50s inspired outfits are incredible.  And you know those days when you are looking for a certain outfit and can’t find your size at any vintage store…..well it’s nice to go somewhere where you have the option of s-xl. I got this cute little summer dress last time I went in.  Now I just have to wait out this rainy winter until I can wear it!

IMG_0346

About tulipsandcoffee

A lover of history, I enjoy exploring the Barbary Coast in search of fashion, food and Jack Kerouac’s old haunts.
This entry was posted in Fashion, San Francisco. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

