Living Alone


I was reading a blog the other day where the author asked her readers if they have ever lived alone.    I was surprised by how many people responded that they had never lived alone.  And as I spoke with friends and colleagues they told me that first they lived with their family as a child, had roommates in college, then housemates in their 20s followed by meeting their partner and moving in with them. Do you live alone? Have you ever?

I have lived alone for almost 4 years now and it has been the most rewarding, and liberating, experience!  Granted living alone has its challenges.  Rent is higher than if I had roommates, and as a result I have to reduce my intake of certain luxuries that my friends with roommates have (such as nice dinners or weekend getaways). And sometimes when I have a hard day at work, or am feeling lonely, I miss coming home to someone.  But I have my own place that I can decorate how I see fit, and I can do whatever I want when I am home.  But most importantly, I’ve gotten to know myself so much more because there are many a night when my only company is myself.  At some point I would love to move in with a partner and relearn to share my space.  But until then, I am loving living alone!  And yes, I don’t always close the bathroom door!

IMG_1509

 

About tulipsandcoffee

A lover of history, I enjoy exploring the Barbary Coast in search of fashion, food and Jack Kerouac’s old haunts.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Living Alone

  1. bob villegas says:

    thanks for that funny clip 🙂

Leave a Reply

